Best Checking Accounts of 2026

Chase pays $400, SoFi up to $475 and Current $75. Every requirement and deadline below comes straight from each bank's own terms.

A checking bonus is the bank buying your direct deposit. The account your paycheck lands in is the one you keep for years, and the one you open a savings account or a card against later, so banks pay real money up front to be that account. That is the entire trade, and it is why every offer below is tied to a direct deposit rather than a transfer you make yourself.

The three accounts here are the ones worth the paperwork. There is no rule against holding all three, and each bonus is paid by a different bank, so opening all of them is $775. Every figure below was read off each bank’s own page. Checking your eligibility costs nothing and none of these run a hard credit pull.

Top checking bonuses right nowAccounts shown here reflect the most viewed listings on this page based on reader engagement. We may receive compensation from some companies listed. This does not influence ranking order or our editorial scores.

Open all three and it is $775. Each one takes about five minutes.

Chase Total Checking
4.9/5 rating · Biggest bonus
Claim $400 →
SoFi Checking & Savings
4.8/5 rating · Best online account
Get up to $475 →
Current
4.7/5 rating · No credit check
Claim $75 →
Key Takeaways
  • $400 once your direct deposits total $1,000. You have 90 days from enrolling, and it is cumulative rather than one big deposit.
  • Paid within 15 days of hitting the requirement. The fastest payout of the three.
  • $15 monthly fee, and it is waivable four ways. $500+ in qualifying electronic deposits, a $1,500 daily balance, $5,000 average across linked accounts, or linking a qualifying checking account. Zelle, cash, checks and wires do not count.
  • More than 5,000 branches and 14,000 ATMs. The only account here you can walk into.
  • Offer expires January 27, 2027, and it is closed to existing Chase checking customers.
  • Checking pays no interest. This is a bonus play, not a place to park savings.
Pros & Cons
  • $400 for $1,000 of direct deposits, the best ratio here
  • Bonus lands within 15 days of qualifying
  • $0 minimum to open the account
  • More than 5,000 branches and 14,000 ATMs
  • Four separate ways to waive the monthly fee
  • Offer expires January 27, 2027
  • Not available to existing Chase checking customers, or anyone who closed an account within 90 days
  • $15 monthly fee unless you meet one of the waivers
  • Zelle, cash, checks and wires do not count as qualifying deposits
  • One new-checking bonus every two years
  • Checking pays no interest
Key Takeaways
  • Up to $475, and it is three separate bonuses. $50 for opening and depositing $500 within 21 days, $25 more for enrolling in SoFi Plus, and up to $400 on direct deposit.
  • The $400 tier is strict. Eligible direct deposits totalling $5,000 or more inside 25 calendar days. Between $1,000 and $4,999.99 pays $50, and under $1,000 pays nothing.
  • No fees and no minimums. No monthly fee, no overdraft fee, no minimum balance. Savings earns 3.30% APY with eligible direct deposit activity.
  • Only real payroll counts. Check deposits, Zelle, PayPal, Venmo, Wise, wires and IRS tax refunds are all excluded.
  • Paid within about 7 business days of meeting the requirements, and the offer runs to December 31, 2026.
  • Online only. There is no branch to visit.
Pros & Cons
  • Three bonuses stack to $475 if you qualify for all of them
  • 3.30% APY on savings with eligible direct deposit activity
  • No monthly fee, no minimum balance, no overdraft fee
  • SoFi Bank, N.A. is itself a Member FDIC bank
  • Bonus pays within about 7 business days
  • The $400 tier needs $5,000 in eligible direct deposits
  • Between $1,000 and $4,999.99 pays only $50
  • Deposits are totalled over just 25 calendar days
  • P2P, wires, check deposits and tax refunds do not count
  • The $25 piece requires a paid SoFi Plus subscription
  • No physical branches
Key Takeaways
  • $1,500 in eligible payroll deposits within 35 days. This is the requirement people miss. It is cumulative, not a single deposit.
  • $75 with code WELCOME75. New customers only, and the code has to be entered at signup.
  • Paid within about 10 business days of your deposits reaching $1,500.
  • Transfers do not count. Venmo, Cash App, Zelle, PayPal, mobile check deposits, cash and one-off deposits like a tax refund are all excluded. It has to be recurring wages from an employer, payroll provider or government payer.
  • No credit check to open. Paycheck Advance has no credit check either, and repayments are not reported.
  • Up to $750 before payday. Instant access carries a fee, or wait up to 3 days for free.
  • Current is a fintech, not a bank. Banking services come from Choice Financial Group and Cross River Bank, both FDIC members, so cover is pass-through up to $250,000.
Pros & Cons
  • No credit check to open
  • $0 monthly fee
  • Up to $750 of your paycheck before payday, free if you can wait 3 days
  • No credit check for Paycheck Advance either, and repayments are not reported
  • Approval is realistic after a past bank closure
  • Needs $1,500 in eligible payroll deposits within 35 days
  • Smallest bonus on this page at $75
  • Transfers from Venmo, Cash App, Zelle and PayPal do not count
  • Current is a fintech, not a bank, so FDIC cover is pass-through
  • Instant advances carry a fee unless you wait 3 days

Quick comparison: all three accounts

Side by side on the numbers that decide it.

$400 bonus
4.9
Bonus
$400
To Qualify
$1,000 in direct deposits, 90 days
Monthly Fee
$15 or $0
Bonus Paid
Within 15 days
Claim $400 →
Offer expires Jan 27, 2027 · no minimum to open
Up to $475
4.8
Bonus
Up to $475
To Qualify
$5,000 in direct deposits, 25 days
Monthly Fee
$0
Bonus Paid
~7 business days
Get up to $475 →
Bonus scales with direct deposit · offer ends Dec 31, 2026
No credit check
4.7
Bonus
$75
To Qualify
$1,500 in direct deposits, 35 days
Monthly Fee
$0
Bonus Paid
~10 business days
Claim $75 →
Code WELCOME75 · $1,500 in direct deposits

In-depth reviews

What each account actually gives you, and who it is wrong for.

Chase Total Checking

4.9/5 editorial rating

America’s largest bank, and the fastest payout here. $400 once your direct deposits total $1,000 or more within 90 days of enrolling, paid within 15 days after that. New Chase checking customers only.

$400 bonus
Claim $400 →
Offer expires Jan 27, 2027 · no minimum to open
Bonus
$400
To Qualify
$1,000 in 90 days
Bonus Paid
Within 15 days
Monthly Fee
$15 or $0
Branches
5,000+
Pros & Cons
Pros
  • $400 for $1,000 of direct deposits, the best ratio here
  • Bonus lands within 15 days of qualifying
  • $0 minimum to open the account
  • More than 5,000 branches and 14,000 ATMs
  • Four separate ways to waive the monthly fee
Cons
  • Offer expires January 27, 2027
  • Not available to existing Chase checking customers, or anyone who closed an account within 90 days
  • $15 monthly fee unless you meet one of the waivers
  • Zelle, cash, checks and wires do not count as qualifying deposits
  • One new-checking bonus every two years
  • Checking pays no interest

SoFi Checking & Savings

4.8/5 editorial rating

Pays you to switch and keeps paying after. Up to $475 across three stacked bonuses, plus 3.30% APY on savings with eligible direct deposit activity. No account fees and no minimums.

Up to $475
Get up to $475 →
Bonus scales with direct deposit · offer ends Dec 31, 2026
Bonus
Up to $475
Savings APY
3.30%
Monthly Fee
$0
Bonus Paid
~7 business days
Deposit Window
25 days
Pros & Cons
Pros
  • Three bonuses stack to $475 if you qualify for all of them
  • 3.30% APY on savings with eligible direct deposit activity
  • No monthly fee, no minimum balance, no overdraft fee
  • SoFi Bank, N.A. is itself a Member FDIC bank
  • Bonus pays within about 7 business days
Cons
  • The $400 tier needs $5,000 in eligible direct deposits
  • Between $1,000 and $4,999.99 pays only $50
  • Deposits are totalled over just 25 calendar days
  • P2P, wires, check deposits and tax refunds do not count
  • The $25 piece requires a paid SoFi Plus subscription
  • No physical branches

Current

4.7/5 editorial rating

The account that says yes when others say no. Set up direct deposits of $1,500 or more and earn a $75 bonus with code WELCOME75, with no credit check to open and up to $750 of your paycheck before payday.

No credit check
Claim $75 →
Code WELCOME75 · $1,500 in direct deposits
Bonus
$75
To Qualify
$1,500 in 35 days
Bonus Paid
~10 business days
Monthly Fee
$0
Paycheck Advance
Up to $750
Pros & Cons
Pros
  • No credit check to open
  • $0 monthly fee
  • Up to $750 of your paycheck before payday, free if you can wait 3 days
  • No credit check for Paycheck Advance either, and repayments are not reported
  • Approval is realistic after a past bank closure
Cons
  • Needs $1,500 in eligible payroll deposits within 35 days
  • Smallest bonus on this page at $75
  • Transfers from Venmo, Cash App, Zelle and PayPal do not count
  • Current is a fintech, not a bank, so FDIC cover is pass-through
  • Instant advances carry a fee unless you wait 3 days

What a checking bonus actually is

Banks pay you to move your direct deposit. Here is the trade.

A checking bonus is a marketing cost, not generosity. The account your paycheck lands in is the one you keep for years and the one you open a savings account, a card or a loan against later. Banks know that, so they pay up front to be that account. That is why every offer here is tied to a direct deposit rather than a transfer you make yourself.

The mechanics barely change between banks. You open the account, route a qualifying direct deposit inside a set window, and the bonus posts weeks later. What differs is the size of the deposit, the length of the window, and, most importantly, what each bank will count as a direct deposit at all.

The four things that actually disqualify people

Nearly every missed bonus comes down to one of these.

Their definition of direct deposit. Some banks count any ACH credit, so a push from another bank works. Others only count payroll or government benefits coded as such. If the terms say payroll, a transfer from your own savings will not trigger it no matter how large.

The account has to stay open. Most banks claw the bonus back if you close inside roughly six months, and some add an early closure fee. Treat a bonus as money you earn half a year from now, not today.

ChexSystems. This is the banking version of a credit report. It tracks overdrafts and accounts closed for cause rather than missed loan payments, and it is usually why someone gets turned down for a checking account. Current does not check it, which is the whole reason it is on this page.

The fee waiver is a separate test from the bonus. Clearing one does not clear the other. Miss the waiver and the monthly fee quietly eats the bonus over the following year. Check both before you apply.

Is chasing bonuses worth it?

Honestly, for most people, only up to a point.

The money is real and the work is small. The three accounts here total $775 for maybe fifteen minutes of setup and one redirected paycheck. Measured as an hourly rate, nothing else on this site comes close.

Two things temper it. Bank bonuses are taxable. The IRS treats them as interest income and banks report them on a 1099-INT once you pass $10 in a year, so a $400 bonus is $400 minus your marginal rate. No bank ad mentions this. Budget for it and January holds no surprises.

The second is churn. Opening accounts repeatedly leaves a trail, and banks that see a pattern of open, collect, close will start declining you. If you plan to do this more than once, space it out and keep at least one account genuinely active. The people who get burned treat it as a monthly income stream rather than an occasional one.

Our take is simple. Do it once, deliberately, with the account you would have picked anyway. Collect the bonus and keep it. That is the version of this that works.

Questions people ask before signing up

Straight answers, no fluff.

Can I really open all 3 of these accounts and stack the bonuses?

Yes. There is no rule against holding multiple checking accounts and the banks know people do it. Opening them in order of bonus size works well: Chase ($400), then SoFi (up to $475), then Current ($75). We track every offer worth doing in our roundup of the best bank account bonuses. The trick is timing each direct deposit so you meet every bank's requirement before its deadline.

Will opening a new checking account hurt my credit score?

No. These accounts are screened through ChexSystems, which is a banking history report rather than a credit report, so your FICO score is untouched. Current does not use ChexSystems at all, which makes it the easiest to get approved for if you have been declined elsewhere. If you are working on your file more broadly, start with how to improve your credit score.

How long does it take to receive the bonus?

They differ more than you would expect. Chase pays the $400 within 15 days of your direct deposits reaching $1,000. SoFi totals your eligible direct deposits over 25 calendar days and then pays within about 7 business days. Current pays its $75 within about 10 business days after your eligible payroll deposits reach $1,500, which must happen inside the first 35 days.

Do I have to switch my main bank?

No. Open the new account alongside your existing one and redirect part of your direct deposit to meet the requirement. Most people earn checking bonuses without ever closing their old account. If you are thinking about moving for good, compare the best online banks and the newer neobanks first.

Can I close the account after I get the bonus?

Technically yes, but most banks claw the bonus back if you close within six months, and some charge an early closure fee. Plan to keep it open at least that long. The simpler move is to leave a small balance and stop using it. Credit unions play by slightly different rules here, which we cover in credit unions vs. banks and credit union promotions.

Do checking bonuses count as taxable income?

Yes. Banks generally report sign-up bonuses as interest income on a 1099-INT once you earn $10 or more in a calendar year. Current handles it differently and reports rewards on a 1099-MISC once they total $600 or more in a year. Either way you owe federal income tax on the bonus, so it is not the full headline number.

Is FDIC insurance the same at an online bank?

Mostly, with one distinction worth knowing. SoFi is FDIC insured through partner banks and advertises coverage up to $2 million against the standard $250,000. Current is a financial technology company rather than a bank, and its banking services come from Choice Financial Group and Cross River Bank, both FDIC members, so your cover is pass-through and capped at the standard $250,000 provided certain conditions are met. That distinction applies to most of the neobanks too.

Which one is right for you?

All three are free to open and none of them run a hard credit pull.

Chase Total Checking
Choose Chase Total Checking if…
  • You are new to Chase checking
  • You can route $1,000 of direct deposit inside 90 days
  • You still want branches you can walk into
Open Chase Total Checking →
SoFi Checking and Savings
Choose SoFi Checking & Savings if…
  • Your payroll totals $5,000 or more across 25 days
  • Your balance will sit there and should be earning
  • You are happy banking entirely online
Open SoFi Checking & Savings →
Current
Choose Current if…
  • You have been declined for a checking account before
  • You want your paycheck early without a payday loan
  • Your pay arrives as a recurring payroll deposit of $1,500 or more
Open Current →
Biggest bonus$400$1,000 in direct deposits · offer ends Jan 27, 2027
Claim $400 →
Brian Meiggs
Brian Meiggs founded My Millennial Guide and has spent over a decade writing about money. He tries every app and product before it goes on the site. No fluff, no guesswork. Named to the Northern Virginia 40 Under 40 earlier this year, and featured in WSJ, Business Insider, and Entrepreneur. Off the clock: chess, the gym, a quiet night in.